top of page
  • Writer's picturePedro Reis

A Year in Review – "Crescent Apartments: A Growing Success Story"

Updated: 2 days ago

Introduction


In the vibrant heart of Newport city centre, a remarkable story of growth and strategic hospitality unfolds with Crescent Apartments.


The journey of Crescent Apartments truly began to take shape following an insightful meeting with Danielle, one of the owners. It was clear from the outset that we shared similar mindsets and goals, particularly in providing outstanding hospitality and creating exceptional guest experiences.

The unique logo of Crescent Apartments, crafted by Airfreedom’s team. This represents our commitment to unique branding for every hospitality unit we manage.

Located at 140 Lower Dock Street, Newport, the property stands in a prime area close to the bustling Friar’s Walk and High Street, and walking distance to Royal Gwent's Hospital making it an attractive destination for a wide variety of guests. Danielle’s previous work as an interior designer for signature hotels, showcasing meticulous attention to detail and a flair for creating inviting spaces, signaled that we were embarking on something special.


Emboldened by this synergy of vision and expertise, the owners entrusted us with their first apartment in November 2022. This initial trust was a testament to their confidence in our capabilities. The success of this venture led to the addition of a second apartment in May 2023. Now, as we approach February 2024, we are excited about the integration of a third apartment, marking a significant expansion of our collaboration and the continued growth of Crescent Apartments.


The birth of Crescent Apartments was more than just a business decision; it was a leap of faith into a future brimming with possibilities. This collaboration with AirFreedom was not just about building city centre apartments; it was about creating experiences, shaping memories, and setting a new standard in the realm of serviced accommodation.


Showcasing the interiors of Crescent Apartments. These listing pictures display the inviting and modern design, ready to welcome our guests.

Catering to a Broad Audience


Crescent Apartments, situated in the heart of Newport at 140 Lower Dock Street, uniquely positions itself to cater to a diverse range of guests. Its proximity to key locations like Newport Hospital appeals to medical professionals and visiting families, while the nearby bustling Friar’s Walk and High Street attract tourists and business travelers. The nearby Kingsway multi storey car park offers convenient access for guests with vehicles, further enhancing the appeal of Crescent Apartments for those seeking both comfort and convenience in Newport’s dynamic urban setting.


Embracing Global Engagement and Diversity


2023 has seen Crescent Apartments become a melting pot of cultures and professions, mirroring the diverse vibrancy of Newport itself. From healthcare workers seeking a tranquil retreat to creative professionals and tourists exploring the city’s rich offerings, the apartments have provided a perfect blend of homeliness and functionality. The tailored experiences and inclusive communication have ensured each guest feels valued, irrespective of their background or purpose of visit.


Showcasing the back yard of one of Crescent Apartments. These listing pictures display stylish outdoor furniture on a summer barbeque set up, ready to welcome our guests.

Personalized Guest Experiences


Pedro and Alina's presence goes beyond mere operational efficiency. They bring a personal touch to each guest interaction, crafting experiences that are as unique as our guests themselves. Whether it’s a warm welcome, personalized recommendations for local attractions, or attending to special requests, their involvement ensures that each stay is memorable and tailored to individual preferences.


Screenshot displaying Crescent Apartments Airbnb Profile showing 25 Reviews 4.92 Average Guest Rate and 2 years hosting

Building Trust and Assurance


Their close proximity and active involvement also build a sense of trust and assurance among our guests. Knowing that the founders of Airfreedom.net are just around the corner, ready to assist at a moment’s notice, adds a layer of reliability and comfort to the guest experience. This accessibility is particularly appreciated by international guests, who find a sense of familiarity and ease in a new city.


Building Guest Loyalty


At Crescent Apartments, our guest-centric approach has significantly fostered guest loyalty. With an impressive average guest review score of 4.92, our guests consistently express their satisfaction with the comfort, tranquility, and amenities provided. The thoughtful touches like Egyptian cotton bed linen, comfortable living areas, and well-equipped kitchens contribute to an experience that our guests cherish.


Showcasing the interiors of Crescent Apartments stylish details - display a wireless bedside table charger and a bedside lamp associated with exemplary comfort.

Personalized Engagement and Repeat Visits


Our direct booking strategy has enabled us to create more personalized guest interactions. This one-on-one engagement has not only led to repeat visits but also enthusiastic word-of-mouth referrals. Our guests appreciate the tailored experiences, from the serene atmosphere to the functional living spaces, making Crescent Apartments more than just a stay – it’s a home away from home.


Screenshot displaying Crescent Apartments Airbnb Profile showing 4.95 Average Guest review, Guest Favourite award

Operational Excellence and Guest Satisfaction


Maximizing Direct Bookings: A Strategic Triumph


The year 2023 has been a defining period for Crescent Apartments, marked by operational excellence and outstanding guest satisfaction. A key component of this success was our strategic focus on maximizing direct bookings. This approach led to a phenomenal performance resulting in 56.3% of these bookings made either directly or through AirFreedom's website.


A detailed report from January 1st, 2023, to December 31st, 2023, highlighting the financial success of Crescent Apartments. It shows 84 reservations, 2 active listings, and an average review score of 4.75, alongside a graphical representation of monthly revenue and revenue by channel.
A detailed report from January 1st, 2023, to December 31st, 2023, highlighting the financial success of Crescent Apartments. It shows 84 reservations, 2 active listings, and an average review score of 4.75, alongside a graphical representation of monthly revenue and revenue by channel.

Reducing Dependency on Online Travel Agents


In the hospitality industry, reliance on online travel agents (OTAs) like Airbnb and Booking.com is commonplace. However, these platforms often come with substantial commission fees, which can impact both the profitability for property managers and pricing for guests. At Crescent Apartments, we made a conscious decision to shift away from this norm. By focusing on direct bookings, we effectively bypassed the hefty commissions typically associated with OTAs.


A dedicated page on Airfreedom.net for Crescent Apartments, providing comprehensive information and showcasing the unique features of the property.

Cost-Effective Solutions for Guests


This strategic shift to optimising our booking engine airfreedom.hostify.com not only benefited our operational bottom line but also provided tangible benefits to our guests. Without the additional costs of OTA commissions, we were able to offer more competitive rates. This approach not only made bookings more cost-effective for our guests but also enhanced the value proposition of staying at Crescent Aparments. It's a classic win-win scenario – guests enjoy lower rates, and we maintain higher revenue retention.


Images of our state-of-the-art booking engine, demonstrating the seamless and user-friendly experience offered to guests when making reservations at Crescent Apartments.
Images of our state-of-the-art booking engine, demonstrating the seamless and user-friendly experience offered to guests when making reservations at Crescent Apartments.

Embracing a World of Cultures and Professions


2023 at Crescent Apartments has been marked not just by operational success, but by a rich tapestry of global engagement and diversity. Our facility has become a melting pot of cultures and professions, offering a unique, homely experience to a wide array of guests. From NHS staff seeking a restful retreat to film crews looking for a creative haven, Crescent Apartments has catered to a diverse clientele, each with their unique requirements and stories.


A Hub for Creative and Professional Talents


The city centre one bedroom apartments have been particularly popular among professionals in the creative industries. Housing film directors, actors, and makeup artists, Crescent Apartments has played an essential role in supporting the filming industry and the entertainment sector in Wales. This clientele brought unique demands – from flexible self check-in/check-out times to specific space requirements for equipment. Our ability to meet these varied needs not only enhanced our reputation but also enriched our understanding of guest service dynamics.


Multilingual Communication: Bridging the Language Gap


One of the cornerstones of our success in 2023 has been our commitment to inclusive communication. Handling thousands of messages in seven languages, we've successfully bridged language barriers, ensuring every guest felt understood and valued. This multilingual approach was more than just a service feature; it was a statement of our respect for cultural diversity and our dedication to providing a welcoming experience for everyone, regardless of their background.


Coffee next to a plant in a coffee table. Representing comfort for professionals.


Technological Integration and Community Focus


Our commitment to integrating technology has played a pivotal role in enhancing the guest experience. An innovative app has streamlined interactions, ensuring seamless service and a high degree of guest engagement. Alongside our technological strides, we’ve maintained a focus on community engagement and environmental sustainability, aligning with the growing consciousness of responsible travel.



“A snapshot of our innovative guest platform, designed to provide a comprehensive and interactive experience for our guests during their stay.

Tailoring Experiences for Every Guest


Our focus on diversity extended beyond language. We tailored our services to suit the cultural preferences and needs of our guests. Whether it was accommodating specific requirements or providing information about local cultural sites, our team went the extra mile to ensure that every guest’s stay was not just comfortable but also culturally enriching.

Technological Integration in Enhancing Guest Experience


Our guests have engaged with us for over 201 hours, a significant portion of which was facilitated through our innovative app. This high engagement rate with the app is a testament to our technological edge and dedication to offering a streamlined and convenient guest experience.


Detailed metrics showing the hours of engagement, auto engagements, total engagements, and the average duration guests spend on our guest platform, emphasizing our interactive and attentive guest service.

Embracing Technology and Innovation

At Crescent Apartments, we didn't just create a space; we crafted an experience. Our investment in technology played a pivotal role. With thousands auto engagements, our automated systems ensured efficiency and consistency in guest interactions. This approach not only streamlined operations but also provided a seamless, hassle-free experience for our guests.

A screenshot of the guest area on our mobile app, highlighting the accessibility and convenience offered to guests at Crescent Apartments..

Multifaceted Clientele and Tailored Experiences

The diverse clientele at Crescent Apartments has been a cornerstone of our success. From NHS workers seeking tranquility to film crews and actors looking for a space that fuels creativity, our ability to cater to varied needs has set us apart. This adaptability has been crucial in not just meeting but exceeding guest expectations, contributing to our high review scores and repeat visits.


Community and Environmental Responsibility

Beyond business, we at Crescent Apartments are committed to community engagement and environmental sustainability. We've taken steps to ensure our operations are eco-friendly and community-oriented, creating a positive impact that goes beyond just hospitality.

The Personal Touch of Pedro, Alina, and Airfreedom.net at Crescent Apartments



A captivating image of Newport City Centre at night, showing the vibrant riverfront and the serene river, representing the dynamic location of Crescent Apartments.

Local Presence, Global Standards

At Crescent Apartments, the remarkable involvement of Pedro and Alina, the driving forces behind Airfreedom.net, has been a key element of our unique service proposition. As local residents living just five minutes away from the property, they embody our commitment to combining global hospitality standards with a deeply personal, local touch.


Ready Response, Round-the-Clock Comfort

One of the standout aspects of Pedro and Alina's involvement is their ability to address queries or emergencies promptly. This proximity to Crescent Apartments not only enables swift on-site responses but also provides our guests with an unparalleled level of comfort and security. In an era where impersonal interactions are common, this hands-on approach sets Crescent Apartments apart, offering a hotel-like availability with the warmth of a home.


The logo of Airfreedom, symbolizing our dedication to providing exceptional hospitality experiences and the overarching brand behind the success of Crescent Apartments.

The Airfreedom.net Advantage


Airfreedom.net, under the management of Pedro and Alina Reis, exemplifies the perfect blend of professional property management and personal hospitality. Their approach is a testament to the belief that the best guest experiences are created through a mix of professional excellence and personal care. At Crescent Apartments, we’re not just offering a place to stay; we’re providing a haven where guests feel valued, understood, and cared for.


The involvement of Pedro and Alina at Crescent Apartments is a shining example of how Airfreedom.net’s philosophy translates into real-world experiences. It's about being there for our guests, not just as hosts but as neighbors, offering a level of attention and care that turns a simple stay into an extraordinary experience. As we move forward, we continue to uphold these values, ensuring that every guest at Crescent Apartments feels not just accommodated, but truly welcomed.


Lessons Learned and Future Goals

The journey with Crescent Apartments has been enlightening. We've learned the importance of agility in the hospitality industry, the power of personalization, and the impact of a guest-centric approach. Looking ahead, we aim to incorporate these learnings into our future projects, continually enhancing our services and guest experiences.


Conclusion: Embracing the Future at Crescent Apartments

Crescent Apartments stands as a testament to what can be achieved with passion, innovation, and a steadfast commitment to excellence. As we conclude a successful 2023 and look to the future, we are invigorated to apply our insights to new projects, further solidifying our role as leaders in hospitality. Inspired by our accomplishments, we are eager to replicate this model of excellence across our portfolio, continuing our journey of redefining hospitality one property at a time. With the addition of a third apartment, Crescent Apartments is poised for further growth and opportunities, ready to create even more memorable guest experiences. Join us in this exciting journey as we continue to set benchmarks in the serviced accommodation sector and celebrate the ongoing success of Crescent Apartments in Newport.


0 comments
bottom of page